Overview of Awards and Honorary Appointments WTMC members and PhD students since 2010

EASST Freeman Award for ‘The New Production of Users’

The Freeman Award for ‘a publication which is a significant collective contribution to the interaction of science and technology studies with the study of innovation’ was given to The New Production of Users, edited by Sampsa Hyysalo, Torben Elgaard Jenssen and Nelly Oudshoorn (chair of the WTMC board from 2005 until 2014).

EASST Ziman Prize for ‘The Leiden Manifesto’

‘The Leiden Manifesto by Diana Hicks, Paul Wouters, Ludo Waltman, Sarah de Rijcke and Ismael Rafols was awarded the EASST Ziman Prize, given for ‘a significant innovative cooperation in a venture to promote public interaction with science and technology’. ‘The Leiden Manifesto for Research Metrics’, originally published in Nature in 2015, provides 10 principles for guiding research evaluation. The Manifesto is not only a Nature article but also a website (where you can find the Manifesto translated into 12 languages), a video, and a blog.

4S Mentoring Award to Arie Rip

The 2016 4S Mentoring Award goes to Professor Arie Rip for his incredible dedication to his PhD students and other colleagues, providing detailed advice, feedback and wise counsel. Arie Rip was chair of the WTMC Board from 1995 until 2001, and scientific director of WTMC from 2000 until 2005.

4S Infrastructure Award for WTMC

In September 2016, WTMC received the 4S Infrastructure Award. This is a new award, to recognise the work done to promote the field. The committee congratulates the many people who have contributed to WTMC over the past 30 years. This is in recognition not only for what WTMC has done for Dutch STS scholarship but also our contribution to the field internationally.

Mayli Mertens (Philosophy, University of Twente)

received the ‘Best Formal Paper by a Graduate Student’ Award for her paper “Objectivity Beyond the Red Line: A case for binocularity in war reporting“, in February 2016, from the  Association for Practical and Professional Ethics (APPE).

Simone van der Burg (Radboud UMC)

Simone van der Burg (Scientific Institute for Quality of Healthcare, RadboudUMC) received one of the two prizes awarded by the Oréal-UNESCO For Women in Science Programme. These prizes are awarded to top researchers in the life sciences, to support their work and to provide them with a sabbatical opportunity. The prize includes an award of €25,000 to support the winner’s research, and a sabbatical at the Netherlands Institute for Advanced Study (NIAS) in Wassenaar. This is the third year that the prizes have been awarded.

Felix Schirmann (RUG)

Dr. Felix Schirmann, WTMC alumn, has been awarded one of the five Studieprijzen 2015 of the Stichting Praemium Erasmianum for his dissertation “The Good, the Bad and the Brain: Theory and History of the Neuroscience of Morality”. Prof. Trudy Dehue was his promotor and Dr. Stephan Schleim was co-promotor. Schirmann defended his dissertation on 9 October 2014, at the Rijksuniversiteit Groningen.

Ernst Homburg (UM)

Ernst Homburg (Maastricht) has been awarded the American Chemical Society’s Historical Division Award for Outstanding Achievement in the History of Chemistry for 2014. The event to honour Ernst’s contributions to the history of chemistry will take place on 12 August 2014 at the American Chemical Society’s annual meeting in San Francisco.

Wytske Versteeg (UT)

Wytske Versteeg (Twente) won the BNG New Literature Prize for her novel Boy. The prize is awarded annually for a writer who is not yet 40 and who is still establishing him/herself as a writer. Wytske has one other published novel. She is also a member of WTMC, and working on a PhD at the University of Twente, about how expertise is constituted in interaction, both online and offline.

Jess Bier (UM)

Was awarded the 2013 Student Paper Prize of the Middle East Section (MES) of the American Anthropological Association (AAA). The prize committee selected her paper “The Colonizer in the Computer: The British and Israeli Influence on Palestinian Authority Cartography in the West Bank” based on criteria for innovation, quality of writing, and the rich use of ethnographic data. The AAA is the largest anthropological association in the world, and the award was officially presented at the AAA annual meeting in November 2013.

Wiebe Bijker (UM)

Was awarded the Leonardo da Vinci Medal during the Annual SHOT Conference in Copenhagen on 5 October 2012. This medal is the highest recognition from the Society for the History of Technology (SHOT), the leading international association for scientists in the field of technology history.

Joeri Bruyninckx (UM)

Was awarded the 4S Nicholas Mullins prize for best student paper, for his chapter entitled ‘Sound Sterile: Making Scientific Field Recordings in Ornithology’, that appeared in the Oxford Handbook fo Sound Studies, edited by Trevor Pinch & Karin Bijsterveld (2012, Oxford University Press).  The prize was awarded during the 4S/EASST conference in Copenhagen , in October 2012.

Rob Raven (TUE)

Rob Raven, Jochen Markard and Bernhard Truffer were jointly awarded the first-ever Freeman prize for the special section on Sustainability Transitions that appeared in Research Policy earlier this year. The award ceremony took place in Copenhagen in October 2012.

The Freeman prize is awarded by EASST for a significant collective contribution to the interaction of science and technology studies with the study of innovation.

Niki Vermeulen (former WTMC PhD student)

Niki Vermeulen, Sakari Tamminen & Andrew Webster were jointly awarded the first-ever Amsterdamska prize for their edited book Bio-Objects, Life in the 21st Century (2012, Ashgate) in Copenhagen, October 2012.

The Amsterdamka prize is awarded by EASST for a significant creative collaboration in an edited book in the broad field of science and technology studies.